Beauty of Books

SusieGuest Blogger Susanne Deitermann is the Director of Evaluation and Assessment at The Edge, and has been with us for four years.  She is an avid fitness enthusiast, and loves good movies, books, and snacks.

Many people inspire us and today, I am inspired by my colleague, and friend, Dawn.  Dawn is the voice of our Learner’s Edge Chalk Blog, and after reading her blog today about reading, I was motivated to add my (very important) two cents about the beauty of reading.

Yes, I said beauty of reading.
I, too, am a reader.  I like saying that.
I like saying that so much, I will say it again.
I am a reader.

Recently, I have received resumes from teachers interested in working for our company.  Today, as I read over a teacher’s stunningly academic resume, at the bottom I noted this sentence: “I love to read.”

Ah, yes, a reader. (smile)

As a little girl, at Christmas my dad would give my older brother and I each a book.  One year it was The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe.  Another year, it was Charlotte’s Web, and for many years in a row my dad gave me one of the books in the Little House on the Prairie series.  I still have all of them, each with his hand written inscription inside the front cover.

My Grandma Leslie, a librarian with a very deep and masculine voice, jet black hair, and beautiful olive skin was my reading heroine.  As I grew, she guided and encouraged me to read.  She suggested books about everything you can imagine.  Fiction, non-fiction, books filled with beautiful photographs, books about the ocean, music, and many other things about which I was unfamiliar.  I was hooked, and I began recommending titles to my mom and friends.  I wanted them to read what I was reading so we could talk about the books.  It was essentially one of my first book clubs.

As my grandma aged, and her eyesight began to wane, I could hear the sadness in her voice as she could no longer read as she once had. She passed along her love of books to me and it is the gift I wanted to pass along to my own children.

When my children were little, I read to them every night, and I mean every night.  I remember some nights  after a long day, trying to skip a page as I tried not to nod off reading Chicka Chicka Boom Boom for the 3rd time, but they always caught me.

One day, my 6 and 8 year old daughters and I found ourselves boarding a plane to visit friends in Florida. Before they allowed me to put their backpacks under the seats, each of them requested their books.  As the plane taxied away from the gate, I looked over to find them…reading.

I was happy.
I am happy.
They are readers.

Because my daughters are now in high school, we find ourselves occasionally reading the same books. Recently, my older daughter walked into the room with a look on her face I will never forget.  Her eyes were filled with tears, and in her hand was The Kite Runner. Fighting back tears, she looked me in the eye and said…

“Mom.”

I knew exactly what she meant.  I knew which part of the book she had just read.

My own eyes filled with tears and I simply said…

“I know.”

Books connect us, generation to generation, father to daughter, grandmother to granddaughter, and mother to daughter.

Books teach us, empower us, and awaken our emotions.

One of my favorite quotes is “I still find each day is too short for all the friends I want to see, all the walks I want to take, and all the books I want to read.”

Indeed.

I am a reader.  I like saying that so much, I will say it again.
I am a reader.
Now go find yourself a good book.

This entry was posted in General Education, Inspiration, Reading and Literacy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

