Slow Food in School

Here in MN it’s the dead of winter, and we are so so so so sick of it.  So I’m gonna write about something upbeat and summer-ish – local and fresh food.  A few years ago, I read the book, Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver, and it changed the way I ate.  Then I read In Defense of Food by Michael Pollan, and that changed the way I thought about food.  Last year at this time I was teaching, and marveled at the unhealthy choices available in the school lunchroom…and how it was so different (not necessarily better) than my experience.

My school lunches were abysmal.  I can seriously still taste the peas (from high school) that were probably tinned when Sputnik orbited the Earth – preserved for the consumption of unsuspecting school children everywhere in the 1970’s. No wonder we plodded our way to a childhood obesity epidemic – even at my old school, many of my students ate muffins, chips and cookies for lunch.

But now, as many of you know, there’s this amazing movement in school lunches – eating local and fresh – and the momentum continues!  Here’s a list of fantastic programs nationwide.  Several organizations (including REAL school gardens) work with schools to help establish school gardens (which sometimes then support the school lunch programs).

Is your school taking action on childhood obesity, local foods and/or school lunches?

Dawn
dawn@learnersedgeinc.com

This entry was posted in Connecting With Students, Differentiated Instruction, General Education, Inspiration, School Initiatives, Tools We Love and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

