Challenging the Traditional Read

I’m…. (deep breath)………contemplating the purchase of an e-reader.  (lets breath out).  A red one, now that I know they come in red.I’ve always been a reader; reading defines me.  I even worked in a bookstore for four years, and although it wrecked my back, I was extremely knowledgeable about books. I felt like quite the smarty-pants back then.  When I was teaching, reading was part of my job too, requiring me to talk lovingly about books and to know them intimately.

I haven’t read much in the last few months beyond Eric Carle, but I have managed to read enough books to keep me in the loop.  Without a lot of disposable income, I have to rely on what people lend to me, and that’s been good.  But see, I work with two copious readers.  They talk about their reading.  I also read the NPR “Books we Like” blog, and I think that’s nifty.  E-readers allow you to download books for a little less than what you would pay in the store, and there are oodles of free books as part of Project Gutenberg.  I want to read more…

…but I’m stuck.  I can’t say that I am ready to give up the feel of a book: the heft, the page turning, the way my hands hold it.  The way I can hold and turn pages of a book shouldn’t be enough reason for me NOT to get an e-reader, right?

I’m kind of inspired by the trends I am seeing in some schools where e-readers are used.  My husband even uses an iPad as an e-reader with his students who live on the Autism Spectrum.  I’m curious as to what you think…do you own an e-reader?  Do you like it? Does your school support using e-books in your classrooms?  Does your school have e-readers?

Let me know what you think!
Dawn
dawn@learnersedgeinc.com

This entry was posted in Reading and Literacy, Technology and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Challenging the Traditional Read

  1. So I did it and yes, it was a very enjoyable experience. I read Water to Elephants on my kindle. Interestingly, I noticed I read faster, kind of like how I read articles on the internet…so I asked myself, “Am I scanning? Am I truly reading in the traditional way?” I still loved the book in the way I love a good read, I still reread passages, yet it went faster. Instead of turning pages I pushed the button on the right…click, click, click. I enjoyed holding it with one hand easily, …or two. And I found my place immediately without searching the left or right side page, the paragraphs and finally the sentence. Summary: It was a perfectly enjoyable experience and I plan to read more downloads.

  2. Adam says:

    I think it depends on the e-reader that you get. While the Kindle and Nook may get tons of positive reviews, I have a very negative review of the one that I received. For Christmas my brother bought me a Literati e-reader, and I absolutely hated it. It was an LCD screen rather than an e-ink screen and it hurt my eyes to read it for an extended time. The worst part was that it wouldn’t work with my computer (I have a Mac) and the website supporting it was a pain to navigate and didn’t work as well as it could’ve.

    I think if you’re going to get an e-reader you should definitely see if you can try it out before you commit to buying one. As for the price aspect, from what I’ve seen on Amazon most paperbacks are still cheaper than buying e-copies of the book. Personally I prefer paperback for the most part unless it’s an author or series that I can’t wait to read (Wheel of Time for example) then I’ll get the hardback.

    If you do get one you’ll have to write a post reviewing it.

  3. Thank you for the feedback, Adam and Georgette! I am still not sure of my commitment to buy this thing. If I do, I will definitely write a review!

Leave a Reply

