The Value of Caring

I’ve looked into the eyes of people who care, and I’ve also looked into the eyes of people who do not know how to care.
There’s a huge difference.  Those who care offer up a warmth, a depth, and a willing.
Those who do not know how to care are not necessarily evil people, but the warmth isn’t there.  The depth isn’t evident.  The willingness to be open, inviting and approachable – undeveloped.
I feel a sense of loss for those kinds of people.  Those folks who have been so hurt in their lives that caring becomes dangerous for them are often extremely vulnerable, and might have developed a persona that allows them to function in society, but they are not able to allow themselves to truly live.  Truly, it must be frightening and lonely living that way.
Caring and compassion are necessary parts of our soul that need nourishing and development.  I have to believe that we are born with the ability to care for others, and that this aspect of our social makeup needs tending to thrive.
It’s hard to do that in these times of individualism, cutthroat business and self-centered culture.  There’s often the thought of, “what’s in it for me?”, and the younger generation will easily attach to that sentiment.  Teaching empathy is more necessary now than ever – even in this educational climate of standards and content and testing (oh my).  We can certainly do our best to crank out brilliant members of our society, but without empathy, we won’t function beyond our brains.  We will forget what it means to feel.  And that means that we will begin to lose our integrity.
The Harley School in New York state has incorporated empathy as part of their philosophy; you can read more about it here.  Some of those skills are covered in elementary classrooms, but often in the lower grades.  Interestingly enough, as the students get older, it seems that just when its needed the most, empathy is pushed to the wayside.  What do you think about teaching empathy in school?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Value of Caring

  1. Yes, sometimes I break my own rules and opt to make decisions on a case by case basis. The syllabus is a general guide, necessary to govern the course. But it needs to be interpreted by the “empathetic” leader in the classroom.

  2. Sebastain says:

    I have been a caring person, Even now I want to care but something blocks me, That something is my past hurts. I am scared, yet i know I have break down the thick I have created around me not to be hurt again. Hope the Lord caring with assist me with His grace to break open

Leave a Reply

