3 Books You’ve Gotta Read

Who got a Kindle Touch for Christmas? I did. Pretty awesome.  I’ve already read three books on it.
There are many, many books I am happy to recommend these days, but here are a few for those of you who allow yourself the indulgence of reading:

The Hunger Games Trilogy– Suzanne Collins
This is an amazing series – all three books: The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, and Mockingjay. It’s not often that you can find a book that has a strong female protagonist, edge-of-your-seat action, and media-driven propaganda, all in a sci-fi setting. The themes are mature, but not unrealistic. I couldn’t put down my Kindle (My husband was strongly regretting that purchase). Collins is a fantastic storyteller, and she even wrote the screenplay for the upcoming movie, due in March.

Bel Canto– Ann Patchett
Without giving away the plot, this is one of the most unique books I have read in my long readership history. The characters are beautifully developed and their stories hold you close and tight. Even if you know little of music, you can appreciate Patchett’s threads of opera and rebellion. You will be left in awe – of the story, of the writing, and of human fragility.

This Life is in Your Hands – Melissa Coleman
I used to get upset when my parents didn’t pack Hostess snacks in my lunch. That’s nothing compared to Melissa Coleman’s childhood. Her parents married young, started a homestead in 1970’s Maine, and lived completely off the land. Their lifestyle set them apart, and amassed admirers who came from far and near to work with the family, honing the craft of organic farming as their relationships became more strained. When I began reading, I wanted to become a homesteader, and when I completed the book, I hugged my microwave. A fascinating take on the “green” movement; especially the depths to which the family sunk to remain authentic.

These books are fantastic, and well worth the time when you can get to them.  Let me know what you think!
Happy Reading,
Dawn
dawn@learnersedgeinc.com

This entry was posted in Interesting, Just for Fun and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

